Share projects with other groups (FREE)
You can share projects with other groups. This makes it possible to add a group of users to a project with a single action.
Groups as collections of users
Groups are used primarily to create collections of projects, but you can also take advantage of the fact that groups define collections of users, namely the group members.
Share a project with a group of users
The primary mechanism to give a group of users, say 'Engineering', access to a project, say 'Project Acme', in GitLab is to make the 'Engineering' group the owner of 'Project Acme'. But what if 'Project Acme' already belongs to another group, say 'Open Source'? This is where the group sharing feature can be of use.
To share 'Project Acme' with the 'Engineering' group:
- For 'Project Acme' use the left navigation menu to go to Project information > Members.
- Select Invite a group.
- Add the 'Engineering' group with the maximum access level of your choice.
- Optional. Select an Access expiration date.
- Select Invite.
After sharing 'Project Acme' with 'Engineering':
- The group is listed in the Groups tab.
- The project is listed on the group dashboard.
You can share a project only with:
- Groups for which you have an explicitly defined membership.
- Groups that contain a nested subgroup or project for which you have an explicitly defined role.
Administrators can share projects with any group in the system.
Maximum access level
In the example above, the maximum access level of 'Developer' for members from 'Engineering' means that users with higher access levels in 'Engineering' ('Maintainer' or 'Owner') only have 'Developer' access to 'Project Acme'.
Share a project with a subgroup
You can't share a project with a group that's an ancestor of a subgroup the project is
in. That means you can only share down the hierarchy. For example,
- Can not be shared with
- Can be shared with
Share public project with private group
When sharing a public project with a private group, owners and maintainers of the project see the name of the group in the
members page. Owners also have the possibility to see members of the private group they don't have access to when mentioning them in the issue or merge request.
Share project with group lock
It is possible to prevent projects in a group from sharing a project with another group. This allows for tighter control over project access.
Learn more about Share with group lock.